Back to site

SPE: The Formative Years - Nathan Lyons

Image of SPE: The Formative Years - Nathan Lyons


The invitational teaching conference held at The George Eastman House in 1962 was attended by 28 photographic educators. It brought together a cross section of representatives from teaching programs throughout the country—established educators such as Aaron Siskind, Henry Holmes Smith, Sol Mednick, Clarence White Jr., and some younger participants; Jerry Uelsmann, John Wood, Ken Josephson—to share and discuss their thoughts about the current state of photographic instruction. That meeting led to the establishment of the Society for Photographic Education (SPE). The enabling documents of the SPE have been reprinted here on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the Society for Photographic Education. They include: the 1962 conference report; Minor White’s supplement to Aperture on the conference; the 1963 Steering Committee Report; and the 1965 Chairman’s Report to Members.

2012, 6 x 9 in, 160 pages, paperback